Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

11th March 2019 08:45:56 Hours

They Participate in Selection of Best Music Band & the Best Vocalist in Kilinochchi

The finale of the Best Music Band and the Vocalist competition among the troops of the Security Force Headquarters - Kilinochchi, organized by the 65 Division on a notion, proposed by the former Commander, Security Forces – Kilinochchi, Major General Niyshshanka Ranawana a few years ago got underway on Wednesday (6) at Nelumpiyasa Auditorium in the presence of Major General Vijitha Ravipriya General Officer Commanding, 57 Division as the Chief Guest on behalf of the Kilinochchi Commander.

The competition was held under 2 stages, supervised by the General Officer Commanding of 65 Division and was organized by the 651 Brigade. Those participating troops had the opportunity to undergo training sessions at the Battalion Training School, Mulankavil during 22 - 26 October 2018 with the participation of six Beat Groups and nine Calypso Bands before they faced the finals.

Mr. Pradeep Bogahawatthe, a recognized musician, extended his assistance in training the competitors. Under the supervision of the Commander, Security Forces Kilinochchi Major General Ralph Nugera and General Officer Commanding 65 Division Major General Wasantha Kumarapperuma, 651 Brigade organized the final event in the competition during 5- 6 March.

1 Battalion Gajaba Regiment won the first place in the Beat Group competition and 6 Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment won the first place in the Calypso band competition. Corporal Indika from 1 Battalion Gajaba Regiment won the first place as the best singer of the Security Forces in Kilinochchi while Lance Corporal Dissanayake from 10 Sri Lanka Light Infantry and Private Janapriya from 21 (Volunteer ) SLLI secured the 2nd and 3rd places respectively.

Mr Pradeep Bogahawatte, Captain A.S Ruwanpura and Probation Officer, B.I.T Perera participated in the final event and extended their guidance and expert assistance during the final competition as the panel of judges.