Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

Published on - 9/22/2003


Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment (SLSR) emerged overall winner at the Sri Lanka Army Cricket Championship 2003 when they battled against Sri Lanka Corps Military Police (SLCMP) amidst a large crowd of enthusiasts and cricket fans at the CCC grounds last Thursday (18).

The match was one of the most exciting Inter Regiment encounters played during recent past. Taking advantage on the toss, the Military Police decided to bat first to get a competitive total on the board but their headway abruptly boomeranged due to irresponsible balling. Their five wickets fell against 35 runs in ten overs.

Military Police saw campaigner Lance Corporal Thushara Rupasinghe swept in at the fall of the 06th wicket until he top-edged a straight ball from off spinner position which led him in return out of the ground. SLCMP's total runs rose to 188 with all out within 45 overs.

Singha Regiment's top order batsman too did not negotiate the new ball well and lost 6 wickets for 52 runs in 14 overs.

Gutsy tail-enders of the Sinha Regiment never gave-up their hopes, instead, they picked up the gaps in the field quite well and collected good running rates. Military Police never applied pressure on the batsmen when they quite comfortably played at 52 for 6 wickets and tried to defend their modest total of 188.

There was a good 7th wicket partnership of 94 runs between Lance Corporal Heendeniya and Riflemen Alahakoon who played for the team keeping victory. When the score was 152 for 06 wickets, Corporal Bandara trapped batsman, Heendeniya for leg before wicket. The eight-wicket partnership took the score to 192 runs but the winning run came from a square cut off.

When the final but decisive wining run was scored, the Sinha supporters invaded the ground made their success a joyful moment since Sinha Regiment took part in the Inter Regiment Cricket Championship after a lapse of several years.

Lance Corporal Rupasinghe SLCMP, Rifleman Karunaratne SLSR and rifle Alahakoon were adjudged best batsman, best bowler and man of the match respectively.

Chairman Brigadier V. R Silva thanked all teams participated in the tournament and congratulated Sinha Regiment for its victory in the year 2003 Championship. Chief Guest Maj. Gen Gamini Jayasundara gave away the awards for winners.