Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

Saliyapura Gajaba Super Cross Thrills Racing Enthusiasts

The thrilling Gajaba Super Cross 2012, the mammoth motor racing event in the Rajarata got underway at Saliyapura Super Cross track on Sunday (26).

The most awaited event of the year at Saliyapura, competed by over a hundred of renowned motor racing and riding enthusiasts drawn from every corner of the island, was witnessed on Sunday (26) by a large gathering of spectators.

The Saliyapura Racing Track provided excitement, curiosity and thrill to four motor car events under 12.00 kg/hp, up to 1400 cc, SL-H cars up to 1600 cc, SL-N-cars 10-12 kg/Hp, SL-GT cars up to 3500 cc, SLN-cars Mini – 7- 1000 cc, SL-H cars up to 1600 cc, SL-GT cars up to 3500 cc categories amidst thundering applause, in addition to riders in 20 motorbike tussles under 125 CC, 250 CC, 85 CC, 1400 CC, 1600 CC and 5500 CC categories.
At the conclusion of the day’s event, the Chief Guest gave away championship trophies to the winners.

Riders and Drivers competed in 20 Motorcycle events and 4 Car events for Major General W. D. G.A. Gunasekara Rolling Trophy in the driving sector. This was the 11th Gajaba Regiment Super Cross that got underway with the coordination of the Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers (SLARDAR).

Veterans like M.S.K Dhammika, E.B Gurusinghe, Upulwan Serasinghe, Ravi Mayadunne, Udesh Wedisinghe and Ashan Silva exhibited their skills in the vehicle category securing the first place while E.B Gurusinghe, M.S.K Dhammika Suresh, Udesh Wedisinghe, Shavindu Shenal, Yohan Rajith Silva, Dinesh Anurudda, S.C. Adikari, Gayan Sandaruwan, Upulwan Serasinghe, Shriyantha Marasinghe and C.S Santhosh (India) emerged the winners in the motorbike category.