Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

09th November 2019 10:10:00 Hours

President Coincident with Auspicious Opening Promotes Eight more Brigadiers to Next Rank

HE the President Maithripala Sirisena, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces coincident with the historic inauguration of the new Army Headquarters on Friday (8) left his signature for promotion of eight senior Brigadiers of the Army to the rank of temporary Major General on the recommendations of the Ministry of Defence and the Commander of the Army, Lieutenant General Shavendra Silva soon after HE the President warmed the new office of the Commander of the Army at the new Army HQ.

The auspicious gesture, seen as a bonanza given on the inaugural day itself enabled eight most senior Brigadiers in the Army to wear their new ranks, effective from 8 November 2019, the landmark day the New Army HQ was ceremonially opened.

Here follow the names of newly-promoted Major Generals:

Brigadier J.C Gamage of Sri Lanka Engineers, General Officer Commanding, 24 Division.

Brigadier K.N.S Kotuwegedara of Sri Lanka Artillery, General Officer Commanding, 55 Division.

Brigadier K.J Jayaweera of Sri Lanka Light Infantry, Commandant, Officer Career Development Centre, Buttala.

Brigadier K.H.P.P Fernando of Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment, General Officer Commanding, 59 Division.

Brigadier M.D Wijesundara of Sri Lanka Light Infantry, General Officer Commanding, 66 Division.

Brigadier A.S Hewawitharana of Sri Lanka Artillery, Director of Military Intelligence.

Brigadier B.A.L Rathnayake of Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment, General Officer Commanding, 51 Division.

Brigadier S.S Waduge of Gemunu Watch, General Officer Commanding, 52 Division.