Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

Published on - 9/13/2004

Pistol-shooting competition produces new records

The Team Championship in the recently-held Inter-Regiment Practical Pistol-shooting Competition organized by the Army's Small Arms Association was won by the elite Army Commandos. But the overall championship (open section), went to Sergeant P. A.C Prasad of the Gajaba Regiment.

The week-long competition, competed by fourteen teams and seventeen individual shooters in five phases was thanks to the training given by Marksmanship and Sniper Training School (MSTS) at Diyatalawa. Three women teams too vied for their colours.

Twenty five contestants (twenty males and five females) were preliminarily selected from those five phases. The Best Shot in the competition was evaluated from an ad hoc Surprise Shoot. In addition two special events, Man Vs Man and Woman Vs Woman categories also got under way increasing the enthusiasm and shooting fever among competitors and onlookers.

sho Organized by the Secretary, Practical Shooting assisted by Commanding Officer, MSTS, the whole event turned out to be a very simple but an attractive challenge, elevating the competition to international standards.

Breakdown of final results are as follows; TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP: 1. Champion - Commando Regiment 2. Runner up - Sri Lanka Army Service Corps 3. 1st Runner up - Gajaba Regiment Overall Best Shot of the Competition open Division 1. Champion - S/453899 Sergeant PAC Prasad Gajaba Regiment 2. Runner up - O/60577 Major SJN Ritigahapola Commando Regiment 3. 1st Runner up - S/100232 Warrant Officer II W Chandana Commando Regiment Senior Officers Colonel KW Edeima Brigadier SM De A Rajapakshe Colonel PUS Vithanage Novices 1. Champion - O/65452 Lieutenant PVW Wijesekara Commando Regiment 2. Runner up - S/551974 Lance Corporal NS Gurusinghe Commando Regiment 3. 1st Runner up - S/551606 Lance Corporal DAS Dissanayake Commando Regiment Service Regiment 1. Champion - S/556618 Lance Corporal ANJ Pathmasiri Sri Lanka Army Service Corps 2. Runner up - O/50933 Colonel KW Edeima Sri Lanka Army Service Corps 3. 1st Runner up - S/576442 Private WA Perarea Sri Lanka Army Service Corps Volunteer Units 1. Champion - S/5A027201 Gunner KP Sangeeth Kumara Sri Lanka Artillery 2. Runner up - O/4789 Captain GGN Galkotuwa Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment 3. 1st Runner up - O/4686 Lieutenant RM Dharmasena Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment Overall Women's Events 1. Champion - S/3R00797 Private PSK Silva Sri Lanka Army Women's Corps 3(v) 2. Runner up - S/2R02267 Private WMNA Warnasooriya Sri Lanka Army Women's Corps 2(v) 3. 1st Runner up - O/5189 Lieutenant SDJK Thilakarathne Sri Lanka Army Women's Corps.