Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

Motor Racing Enthusiasts Throng Saliyapura 'Gajaba Supercross'

Gajaba Supercross-2013’, the year’s stunning Grand Prix on Sunday (01) in Rajarata at Saliyapura Gajaba Regiment Headquarters (GR) drew a massive crowd of spectators.

Lieutenant General Daya Rathnayake, Commander of the Army attended the motor racing ceremony as the Chief Guest, together with Major General Sumedha Perera and Major General Udaya Perera at the invitation of Major General Jagath Dias, Colonel of the Regiment, Gajaba Regiment.

The year’s thrilling spectacle, held in collaboration with Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) had 26 events representing both riding and driving categories.

Ashan Silva, securing the highest number of points for’ Best Driving’ was adjudged the Best Driver and carried Major General “W.D.G.A Gunasekara Rolling Trophy” award.

The “Hans Ralf Rolling Trophy” for the Best Rider who snatched the highest number of points from both 250 cc events went to C.S Santhosh, the veteran rider from India.

Renowned drivers and riders, like Pasindu Peiris, Bhanuka Ratnayake, Shantha Suraweera, K Parameshwaran, Upulwan Serasinghe, Pasindu Peiris, Ajith Keerthi, M.G.S Sampath Kumara, Shehan Adikari, Thusitha Gunasekara, Chaminda weerasuriya, U Rajin Silva, Suraj Perera, Dinesh Senanayaka and C.M Santhosh showed their colours and won the first place in different events.

Two special motor cycle racing events for enthusiasts below 10, 13and 16 years of age also robbed the attention of the spectators. All the races were judged by experts and SLARDAR officials.