Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

19th May 2021 20:48:05 Hours

Memory of War Heroes Refreshed on 'Victory Day' State Ceremony at National War Heroes’ Monument

The Victory Day alias the 12th National War Heroes' Day commemoration (Jathika Ranaviru Semaruma) which respectfully recalls the cherished memory of patriotic War Heroes of the Army, Navy, Air Force, Police and Civil Security Department who sacrificed their precious lives for the country's sovereignty, territorial integrity and independence reached its climax on Wednesday (19) where floral tributes were offered at Battaramulla National War Heroes’ Monument (Jathika Ranaviru Smarakaya) by a restricted galaxy of dignitaries and war veterans, inclusive of HE the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Hon Prime Minister, former president, Hon Speaker , Hon Opposition Leader, Governor for Western Province, President’s Secretary, Secretary Defence, Chief of Defence Staff and Commander of the Army, Navy & Air Force Commanders, Inspector General of Police, Chairperson, Ranaviru Seva Authority and a host of beloved relatives of fallen War Heroes.

This year’s 12th National War Heroes’ Day commemoration ceremony, organized by the Rana Viru Seva Authority (RVSA), adhering to strict health guidelines began sharp at 4.00 p.m. upon arrival of the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, HE the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa as the Chief Guest, preceded by Hon Prime Minister and other distinguished invitees in succession.

During this dignified and solemn ceremony, heroic War Heroes of the Army (23,962), Navy (1160), Air Force (443), together with 2598 Policemen and 456 Civil Security Department personnel, altogether a total of 28,619 who had made the supreme sacrifice in the fight against LTTE terrorism before May 2009 were respectfully remembered for their gallantry, invaluable sacrifices and selfless dedication during this national ceremony, adorned with recital of the National anthem, Two-minute silence in honour of their memory, Reading of the citation for bravery, Religious observances, Playing of ‘Rana Bera’, Vigil mounting, Aerial drop of flowers on the Monument, etc. HE the President, Hon Prime Minister, Hon Speaker, Governor, Secretaries, Tri Service Commanders, Inspector General of Police & others in succession, joined the representative gathering of next of kin of all fallen ones to offer floral tributes to the Monument, seconds after aerial drop of flowers was carried out by Air Force helicopters.

At dusk, the sounding of the Last Post and Reveille in conformity with military traditions culminated the formal ceremony, a feature typical during military ceremonies.