Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

Inter Division Bicycle Race - 2018 of Wanni Security Forces Gives Win to 21 Division Cyclists

In order to further promote enhancement of physical robustness and energetic power of young souls and minds of the troops serving under the Security Force Headquarters - Wanni (SFHQ-W), a novel Inter-Division Bicycle Race -2018 was introduced on a conceptual suggestion of Major General Kumudu Perera, Commander, SF-W on Friday (14).

The race started after the Colonel Forward Maintenance Area (Col FMA), Lieutenant Colonel L.K Kottearachchi in front of the Headquarters of 5 Sri Lanka Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Regiment (SLEME) in Saliyapura. Cyclists of six main Divisions; 21, 54, 56, 61, 62, and Forward Maintenance Area (North Central) under the SFHQ-W competed for the supremacy in racing.

The 21 Division emerged the winners and carried away the Championship trophy while the 62 Division was selected as the runners-up in the Inter Division Bicycle Race - 2018.

Private A.M Abeyrathne of the 62 Division was crowned as the winner in the Inter Division Bicycle Race - 2018 of SFHQ-W while second and third places respectively went to Private H. R Dhanushka Kumara from 21 Division and Rifleman E. J. R Kumara of the 61 Division.

Brigadier Kumar Jayapathirana, General Officer Commanding, 21 Division graced the certificate awarding and final ceremony as the Chief Guest, representing the Wanni Commander.

Brigade Commanders, Commanding Officers of under command battalions of the Security Force Headquarters -Wanni, many Senior Officers, Officers and a large number of Other Ranks participated in the final ceremony, organized by 5 Sri Lanka Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.