Sri Lanka Army

Defender of the Nation

GW Players Trounce MIC Team to Win Football Championship

Curtains came down on the Inter-Regiment Football Championship Thursday (24) evening at CR & FC grounds after the Gemunu Watch team locked horns with their rivals in the Military Intelligence Corps.

GW team after defeating MIC team goals on the final leg of the Championship tournament emerged victorious bagging 2 goals against 1 of the rivals.

Lieutenant General Jagath Jayasuriya, Commander of the Army as the Chief Guest on the occasion, accompanied by Mrs Manjulika Jayasuriya, President, Seva Vanitha Army Branch witnessed the final tussle.

The triumphant GW team endured a rocky ride in the first half but beat the opponents to hit top gear, amidst thundering applause.

The Inter-Regiment Football Championship tournament which has recommenced after a lapse of four years was competed by sixteen Regimental teams. The last Inter-Regiment Championship tournament took place in the year 2007 and service commitments afterwards did not permit Army football players to play the game.

The final match selected the Best Goal Keeper and the Best Player. Trophies went to Private Priyashan and Sergeant Perera of Gemunu Watch team respectively. The Championship Trophy was won by GW team while the runners-up trophy went to the MIC team.

Teams from the Sri Lanka Armoured Corps, Sri Lanka Army Engineers, Signal Corps, Light Infantry Regiment, Sinha Regiment, Gemunu Watch, Gajaba Regiment, Commando Regiment, Engineer Services Regiment, Sri Lanka Army Services Corps, Sri Lanka Army Ordnance Corps, Sri Lanka Army Mechanical and Engineer Services Regiment, General Services Corps, Sri Lanka Military Police, Sri Lanka National Guard and Military Intelligence Corps competed for the trophy.

Trophies and certificates to the winners were given away by the Commander of the Army as the year’s tournament came to a close, late Thursday (24) evening.

Meanwhile, winners in the Inter-Regiment Women’s Football Championship, 2 Women’s Corps (Championship) and 4 Women’s Corps (Runners-up) also received their colours on the same occasion from the Chief Guest and Mrs Manjulika Jayasuriya.