Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

04th May 2021 14:02:50 Hours

COVID-19 Death Toll in the Country Rises to 709 - NOCPCO

As of this morning (4), a total of 1923 more persons were confirmed positive to COVID-19 in the past 24 hours. 9 Sri Lankan expatriates and 1913 of those positive cases are locally-identified ones, including the majority 529 from Colombo District, 264 from Kalutara District, 232 from Gampaha District and 888 others from different Districts, states the National Operation Centre for Prevention of COVID-19 Outbreak (NOCPCO).

By this morning (4), a total of 113,675 persons, inclusive of 90,637 of the fish market and Minuwangoda Brandix cluster have been confirmed positive to COVID-19 from all over the country, including the dead. 98,209 fully-recovered COVID-19 patients have been so far discharged from hospitals and the rest 14,757 are still under treatment in hospitals and care centers.

In the past 24 hours, 967 recovered patients have left hospitals and care centers and 13 deaths have been reported. Accordingly, the COVID-19 death toll in the country remains at 709 by this morning (4). As of this morning (4), 10,981 persons in 110 tri service-managed QCs are still in quarantine.

By Tuesday (4) morning, Kuliyapitiya Police Division, Thittawellagama, Kumbukgete, Niraviya, Nikadalupotha and Udubadalawa GN Divisions in the Kurunegalla District, Adikarigoda, Miriswatte, Pelawatte North, Pelawatte East, Bollunna, Igurudaluwa, Meedalana, Morapitiya, Peleeda, Hadigalla, Morapitiya North, Wellavita South, Makalandawa, Bothalawa, Katukele Welmegoda , Pahala Hewassa, Pinwatta, Pinwatta West, Narampitiya and Bandaragama East GN Divisions in the Kalutara District, Polhena, Heeralugedara, Kaluaggala ,Aswennawatte East and Alwiswatta GN Divisions in the Gampaha District. Pumpuhar, Sumethangapura (Uppuveli), Mudov, Kovilady, Linganagar, Kavattikudah, Chinabay, Orrs hills and Anpuwaalipuran GN Division in the Trincomalee District, Imbulagoda ,Katudampe,Godahena and Thalgasgoda GN Divisions in the Galle District, Siriketha GN Division and Sarubima GN in the Polonnaruwa District, Dambulla, Galewela, Matale and Naula Police Divisions, Pallekumbura and Alugolla GN Division in the Matale District and the Dambulla Economic Centre. Kumarigama, Dehiaththakandiya and Kadirapura GN division in Ampara District. Wellawaya, Weherayaya, Kottamgambokka, Rahatangama, Gal Amuna and Helamulla GN divisions in the Monaragala District, Nampanuwa ,Gorakapitiya ,Dampe, Batakeththara North, Pelanwatta West, Pelanwatta East, Kesbewa South, Makandana East, Mawiththara North, Madapatha, Erewwala North, and Uggalla GN Division in Colombo District, Hapugoda GN Division in Ratnapura district, Nildandahinna and Rathmatiya GN Division in Nuwara eliya District and Theraverasinham Crescent in Batticaloa have been kept isolated and locked down.