Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

Published on - 9/23/2002

Army Service Corps carries away trophy for Best Driver

A campaign, initiated by the Sri Lanka Army in cooperation with Marga Mithuro, to create public awareness and discipline both Army drivers as well as road-users got underway at Jayawardenepura Parliament grounds during the weekend.\r\n\r\nThe timely re-commencement of the Army’s Good Driver Rally Competition 2002, after an absence of fifteen years, was contested by 120 drivers of the armed forces and the Police and made possible by Marga Mithuro, a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO), dedicated to actively sustain the public awareness campaign by mobilizing the public support towards reducing the number of accidents on roads.\r\n\r\nMinister of Defence,Transport, Highways and Civil aviation Hon. Thilak Marapana, as Chief Guest was there to award trophies and certificates to winners at this Good Driver Rally Competition. Defence Secretary Austin Fernando, Commander of the Army Lt. Gen. L. P Balagalle RWP RSP VSV USP ndc IG, Brigadier D.N. Wijesuriya USP, Director, Supply &; Transport (Army) and a host of senior Army, Navy, Air Force and Police personnel attended the prize-awarding ceremony. \r\n\r\nA spectacular tattoo display by members of the Army, one of the highlights of the occasion, attracted the spectators who witnessed the competition at Parliament grounds. \r\n\r\nThe trophy for the Best Driver in the competition was carried away by Sergeant W.M.U. Wijekoon. He received the trophy from Hon. Thilak Marapana, Minister of Defence, Transport, Highways and Civil Aviation.\r\n\r\nA musical show that went on stage till early in the morning after the prize awarding ceremony was a crowd-puller and full of surprises. \r\n\r\nWinners of the competition are as follows:\r\n\r\nHeavy vehicle category\r\n\r\n 1st Place - M. R. L Thillakeratne (Sri Lanka Army Services Corps) \r\n 2nd Place - S. H.S Premaratne (Sri Lanka Air Force)\r\n 3rd Place - N. A.Ranjith (Sri Lanka Navy)\r\n\r\n Cars &; Double cab category\r\n\r\n 1st Place - W.M.U. Wijekoon (Sri Lanka Army Service Corps)\r\n 2nd Place - M.M.T. Karunaratne (Sri Lanka Army Service Corps)\r\n 3rd Place - R.D.S.D. Ratnayake (Sri Lanka Navy)\r\n\r\n Dual Vehicle category\r\n\r\n 1st Place - K.K.Ruwan Kumara (Sri Lanka Army Service Corps)\r\n 2nd Place - S. Somapala (Sri Lanka Air Force)\r\n 3rd Place - W.G.Ranatunga (Sri Lanka Army Service Corps)