Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

02nd September 2022 18:05:24 Hours

Army Inter Regiment Rugby Championship Tournament 2022 Gives Win to SLAGSC

The final tussle of the Army Inter Regiment Rugby Championship tournament-2022, played at Colombo Race Course Ground this afternoon (30), pushed Sri Lanka Army General Service Corps (SLAGSC) Regiment players to a resounding victory beating the rival, Sri Lanka Signal Corps (SLSC) with 24 points.

Rugby’s popularity among both officers and soldiers has earned a niche for itself in the Army calendar of sports and claims an admirable reputation for the organization, having produced a wide assortment of fine-tuned ruggerites who have hitherto made record victories both at service and national levels and a considerable series of victories while posing a formidable challenge to rivals across the country.

Adding importance to the finals, the Chief Guest, Lieutenant General Vikum Liyanage, Commander of the Army, enthusiastically witnessed the tussle and congratulated winners and participants. The tournament began on 27 June 2022 with 16 Regimental teams, including the Sri Lanka Military Academy Team.

Major General WRMM Rathnayake RWP RSP USP, Chairman, Army Rugby Committee and Colonel TRD Sallay, Secretary to the Army Rugby Committee took steps to make the tournament, a success with high professional standards. Both of them welcomed the Army Chief on arrival at the location.

Lieutenant General Vikum Liyanage after extending his warm congratulations to the winners presented the Championship Trophy to SLAGSC players amidst thundering applause. Prizes for the runners-up, and the rest were respectively distributed by the Major General TJ Kodithuwakku RWP RSP ndu, Chief of Staff of the Army.

Ruggerite, Corporal Sameera Silva of SLAGSC regiment was selected the Best Rugby player in the tournament. A record gathering of spectators witnessed the final encounter.

a. Cup Championship - Sri Lanka Army General Service Corps

b. Cup Runner - up - Sri Lanka Signal Corps

c. Plate Championship - Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment

d. Plate Runner - up - Sri Lanka Army Service Corps

e. Bowl Championship - Gemunu Watch

f. Bowl Runner - up - Sri Lanka Light Infantry

g. Shield Championship - Sri Lanka Electrical & Mechanical Engineers

h. Shield Runner - up - Gajaba Regiment