Sri Lanka Army

Defender of the Nation

21st September 2022 17:29:10 Hours

Army Boxers Awarded in the Inter-Regiment Boxing Championship

The Inter-Regiment Boxing Championship - 2022, organized by the Army Boxing Committee came to a close at Panagoda Army Physical Training School on Tuesday (20).

15 Regimental teams including the Sri Lanka Army Women’s Corps team competed in the five-day (Sep17-21) long tournament. 78 male Army boxers and 11 female boxers from 17 regiments under 14 weight categories vied for supremacy in the tournament that provided a fillip to the budding boxers in the Army.

The final tussle for the championship was witnessed by the Commander of the Army Lieutenant General Vikum Liyanage who graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

Chairman, Army Boxing Committee Major General RADP Ranawaka RWP RSP USP ndc welcomed the Chief Guest on his arrival at the venue.

After a close encounter, boxers of the Sri Lanka Army Service Corps (SLASC) carried away the Championship in the tournament. Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment (VIR) boxers emerged runners-up while Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment (SLSR) participants secured the third place.

Meanwhile, 5 Sri Lanka Army Women’s Corps (5 SLAWC) in the women’s category emerged champions and women boxers of the Sri Lanka Corps of Military Police were selected as the 1st runners-up.

In the male novices’ category, VIR boxers clinched the 1st place and boxers in the Sri Lanka Army Ordnance Corps (SLAOC) won the 1st runners-up place and the SLASC boxers were adjudged the 2nd runners-up. In the female novices’ category, Sri Lanka Army Women’s Corps (SLAWC) won the 1st place and boxers of the SLCMP won the 2nd place.

Trophies to the winners were awarded by the Chief Guest, Lieutenant General Vikum Liyanage, Commander of the Army. Subsequently, Major General TJ Kodithuwakku RWP RSP ndu, Chief of Staff and Major General DGS Senarath Yapa RWP RSP ndu, Commandant, Sri Lanka Army Volunteer Force also joined the award of trophies and certificates to the achievers.

Lance Corporal Prasanna P.A.R of VIR was adjudged the Best Male Boxer and Corporal Sanjeewa Nuwan M.P.P of Sri Lanka Armoured Corps became the Best Male Loser. Private Rathnapuli S.W of 5 SLAWC was meanwhile adjudged the Best Female Boxer and Private Manatunge M.D.D of SLCMP became the Best Female Loser.