Sri Lanka Army

Defender of the Nation

56 Division Players Winners in Inter Division Badminton Tournament at SFHQ-Wanni

The Inter Division Badminton Tournament, organized as per guidelines given by the Wanni Commander got underway at the Indoor Court of the Security Force Headquarters-Wanni on Friday (24) with players representing Divisions and the Forward Maintenance Area (North Central).

Designed to improve sportsmanship and also to develop cohesion among officers and soldiers, the Commander Security Forces - Wanni, Major General Champaka Ranasinghe wanted it to be a regular feature among Wanni Badminton players.

The grand finale of the Badminton Tournament gave the win to the 56 Division HQ players after a close tussle. The Commander Security Forces - Wanni, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest in the final awarding ceremony. General Officer Commanding of 56, 54 and 21 Divisions, Brigade Commanders, Commanding Officers, Senior Officers, Officers and Other Ranks were associated with the final ceremony. The champions and runners-up were awarded trophies, medals and certificates by the day's Chief Guest.

The championship tournament was held under 06 categories and winners are as follows:

Below 40-age group (Single)

Champion - Private WGCM Thilakarathne

Runner-up - Lance Corporal JMNK Jayasundara

Below 40-age group (Double)

Champion - Lance Corporal JMNK Jayasundara, Lance Corporal HMHHG Bandara

Runner-up - Sergent TBA Bandara Lance Corporal WTS Dasun

Over 40-age group (Single)

Champion - Lieutenant (QM) JA Karunarathne VIR

Runner-up - Major MPSR Marasinghe RWP RSP SLSR

Over40-age group (Double)

Champion - Brigadier AMS Premawansa, Major SMS Sooriyabandara SLSR

Runner-up - Major EMA Ekanayake GR Captain AHL Kapila Kumara GR

Open (Single)

Champion - Private WGCM Thilakarathne

Runner-up - Lance Corporal HMHHG Bandara

Open (Double)

Champion - Captain JKDD Silva SLLI, Private WGCM Thilakarathne

Runner-up - Lieutenant (QM) JA Karunarathne VIR, Lance Bombardier AP Weerasinghe