Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

06th April 2016 16:32:22 Hours

29 PWV Gallantry Medal Recipients Immortalized in New Book

‘Amaraneeya Soldaduwan Visi Nawaya’ (Twenty-nine Immortal Soldiers), an epic book, authored by Mr Prasad Polwatta was released on Tuesday (5) during a ceremony at Hunupitiya, Gangaramaya Temple. 

The book which narrates the stories of 29 brave War Heroes who were decorated with the highest gallantry medal, Parama Weera Vibhushanaya (PWV) after they made the supreme sacrifice under very special circumstances in the battlefields was a tribute to the memory of their heroic acts and bravery. 

Hon Ruwan Wijewardena, State Minister of Defence as the Chief Guest, together with Eng Karunasena Hettiarachchi, Secretary Defence, Lieutenant General Crishanthe De Silva, Commander of the Army, Navy and Air Force Commanders, senior tri-service officers and a gathering of next of kin of those War Heroes attended the launching ceremony. 

Ven Galaboda Gnanissara Nayaka Thero, Chief Incumbent, Gangaramaya presided the ceremony. Major General Kamal Gunaratne, the war veteran delivered the keynote address, explaining the series of gallant acts that were performed by those heroes for defence of the unitary status of the country. Those heroes included Navy and Air Force personnel too.   

‘Amaraneeya Soldaduwan Visi Nawaya’ which describes the selfless acts of courage of those warriors will remain immortal in our hearts and minds and stand out as admirable men of our history, so said the author of the book, Mr Prasad Polwatta in his welcome address to the occasion. 

Maiden copies were handed over to the guests who were present at the occasion. 

Following is the list of PWV recipients whose admirable valour has been described in the book for consumption of all and including many more generations, yet to be born;

1.     2nd Lieutenant S U Aladeniya
2.     Lance Corporal Y G G Kularatne (Hasalaka Gamini)
3.     Second Lieutenant K W T Nishshanka
4.     Staff Sergeant H P B Gunasekara
5.     Lance Corporal W I M Seneviratne
6.     Lieutenant Colonel A F Lafir
7.     Captain G S Jayanath
8.     Major J A L Jayasinghe
9.     Major K A Gamage
10.     Captain U G A S Samaranayake
11.     Captain H G M K I Megawarna
12.     Sergeant H G S Bandara
13.     Corporal P N Suranga
14.     Corporal P M N Pushpa Kumara
15.     Corporal D M S Chandrasiri Bandara
16.     Lance Corporal K Chandana
17.     Private R M D M Ratnayake
18.    Lance Corporal A M M P Abeysinghe
19.    Recruit A M B H G Abeyratne Banda
20.     Private T G R Dayananda
21.     Lieutenant P N Punsiri
22.     2ndLieutenant W D Jayathilake
23.     Sergeant K G N L R Perera
24.     Corporal K P D T Gunasekara
25.     Lance Corporal H A Nilantha Kumara
26.     Lance Corporal S V A M Pushpamal
27.     Lieutenant J L D S Wijetunge (SL NAVY)
28.     Petty Officer K G Shantha (SL NAVY)
29.     Squadron Leader T D S Silvapulle (SLAF)