Sri Lanka Army

Defender of the Nation

20th May 2024 14:37:21 Hours

15th National War Heroes' Day Commemoration

The 15th commemoration of National War Heroes’ Day, also known as 'Victory Day,' which pays floral tributes to the bravery of 28,619 fallen War Heroes who liberated the country from LTTE terrorism, was commemorated on 19 May 2024 in a simple yet dignified ceremony at Battaramulla National War Heroes’ Monument. The ceremony was graced by Hon. Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardene, as the Chief Guest.

During the ceremony, cherished memories of fallen War Heroes from the Army (23,962), Navy (1,160), Air Force (443), Police (2,598) and 456 Civil Security Department personnel, who made the supreme sacrifice in the fight against ruthless LTTE terrorism before May 2009, were respectfully remembered for their valour, gallantry, selfless dedication and invaluable sacrifices, offering floral tributes.

A host of dignitaries and war veterans, including clergy, beloved spouses/ relatives of fallen War Heroes, Hon. Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene, former president Hon. Mahinda Rajapaksa, Cabinet Ministers, Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Admiral of the Fleet Wasantha Karannagoda, Marshal of the Air Force Roshan Goonetileke, Hon. Premitha Bandara Tennakoon, State Minister of Defence, Mr. Sagala Ratnayaka, Chief of Staff and Senior Advisor to the President, General Shavendra Silva WWV RWP RSP VSV USP ndc psc MPhil, Chief of Defence Staff, Lieutenant General Vikum Liyanage RWP RSP ndu, Commander of the Army, Vice Admiral Priyantha Perera RSP USP ndu psc, Commander of the Navy, Air Marshal Udeni Rajapaksa RSP VSV USP rcds psc, Commander of the Air Force, Inspector General of Police, Director General of Civil Security Department, former Tri-Forces Commanders, Chairman, Ranaviru Seva Authority, Tri-Service Veterans and Senior Officers joined together to salute the memory of those brave ones.

The 15th National War Heroes’ Day commemoration, organised by Rana Viru Seva Authority (RVSA), commenced upon the arrival of Hon. Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardene, as the Chief Guest, preceded by the other distinguished invitees on National Security in succession.

This solemn ceremony included the recital of the National Anthem, religious observances, vigil mount, a two-minute silence in honour of fallen War Heroes, reading of the citation for bravery, playing of ‘Rana Bera', floral tributes, last post and Reveille and vigil dismounting.

Adding significance to the day, Hon. Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardene, along with other distinguished invitees, joined the representative gathering of the next of kin of all fallen War Heroes to offer floral tributes to the Monument as the climax of the day's event.

As dusk fell, the sounding of the Last Post and Reveille in accordance with military traditions culminated the formal ceremony.