Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

11th March 2017 14:04:12 Hours

Army Inter Regiment Marathon Run Flags off at Handapangoda

The Inter Regiment Annual Marathon Run of the Sri Lanka Army - 2017 was flagged off at Handapangoda on Saturday (11) with over two hundred participants, representing all 24 Regiments and ended near the gymnasium at Panagoda Army Cantonment.

Organized by the Sri Lanka Army Athletic Committee, the event, inclusive of female marathon runners of the Army started off at 6.00 a.m. from the 11th Mile Post at Handapangoda in Padukka and ran via Meegoda, Godagama and finished by the Panagoda Army Camp gymnasium, covering approximately a distance of 21 km.

A large gathering of military personnel, including woman soldiers representing all Regiments of the Sri Lanka Army, together with the Chairman Sri Lanka Army Athletic Committee, Major General Amal Karunasekara as the Chief Guest took part in the Marathon Run – 2017.

The Marathon Run, held on par with international standards was observed by a panel of judges of national and international recognition, following arrangements, made by the Army Athletic Committee. Lieutenant General Crisanthe De Silva, Commander of the Army taking a special interest in this 52nd Inter Regiment Marathon Run had instructed all relevant sections to provide all facilities to participating all ranks.

The awarding ceremony and the finish of the marathon race were conducted under the aegis of Major General Amal Karunasekara, Chairman Sri Lanka Army Athletic Committee, Major General P.W.B Jayasundara, Military Secretary and Major General P.M.R Bandara, Director General Sports of the Army.

List of achievers is as follows;

Overall Championship - (Men’s Category)

Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment (SLSR)

Overall Championship - (Women’s Category)

6 (V) Sri Lanka Army Women’s Corps (SLAWC)

Men’s Category

First Place - Corporal D.L Samarajeewa (SLEME)

Second Place - Corporal M.A.R Chamara Kumara (SLLI)

Third Place - Private Y.P.M Gunatilake (SLASC)

Women’s Category

First Place - Corporal N.G Rajasekera (3 (V) SLAWC)

Second Place - Recruit A.L.S.D Liyanage (4 (V) SLAWC)

Third Place - Private K.M.S Wickremasuriya (6 (V) SLAWC)