Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

Army Cricket Tournament Gives Victory to Ordnance Corps Cricketers

The Army six-a-side Cricket Tournament which was organized by the Army Cricket Committee concluded successfully at the Free Trade Zone Grounds, Koggala on Saturday (11). A total of 29 teams participated in the tournament which began on Friday (10).

The final match of the Army cricket sixes was held on Saturday. Major General Mahinda Ambanpola, Deputy Chief of Staff, at the invitation of Major General Ubaya Medawela, Chairman, Army Cricket Committee, attended the Final Awarding Ceremony as the Chief Guest.

In the final encounter, between Sri Lanka Army Ordnance Corps (SLAOC) and Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment (SLSR) teams, the SLAOC team scoring the highest beat the rival SLSR team to emerge as Champions in the tournament.

Sergeant Rathnayake of SLSR team was adjudged the man of the match while the national cricketer Staff Sergeant Sekkuge Prasanna of SLAOC team was adjudged the player of the tournament award.

Major General Ubaya Medawela, Chairman, Army Cricket Committee, Major General Ajith Wickramasinghe, Director General Supply and Transport and several senior officers attended the award ceremony.