Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

Army Boxers Do Well in National Boxing Championship

Sri Lanka Army boxers showed their colours in the just-concluded ‘Layton Trophy’ National Boxing Championship – 2017, organized by the Sri Lanka Amateur Boxing Association (ABA) and excelled during August 2-6 held at Royal College MAS Arena in Reid Avenue, Colombo 7.

The national tournament, competed by 158 boxers, representing 12 boxing clubs across the country.

Male boxers of the Army during the tournament won the Championship and the runners-up slot in five weight categories out of ten and secured two Gold Medals and five Silver medals respectively. Army male boxers secured 14 Bronze medals altogether.

During the tournament, Army Woman Boxers also won 1 Gold Medal and 4 Bronze Medals in all five weight categories.

Major General G.R.H Dias, Chairman, Sri Lanka Army Boxing Committee, has made arrangements in this regard.

Mr Anuruddha Rathnayake, Olympic Boxer graced the finals as the Chief Guest and awarded certificates and trophies to the winners.

Achievers are as follows;

Lance Corporal R.W.M.S.B Rajakaruna - 6 SLCMP

Lance Bombardier J.P.N.N Jayaweera - 16 SLA

Sergeant P.K Sumudhu - 2 SLAWC

Lance Corporal R.M.P Dharmasena - 7 SLE

Lance Corporal N.B.A.J Vimukthi Kumara - 5 SLASC

Corporal I.B.N Samansiri Bandara - 3 MIR

Corporal K.G.A.P Jayasena - 12 GR

Lance Corporal A.R.B.E Thilakaratne - 5 SLASC

Lance Corporal M.P.G.S.N Sanjeewa Nuwan - 6 SLAC

Corporal W.R.T Weerakkody - 1 SLASC

Lance Corporal B.R.L.S Sandaruwan Kumara - 1 CES

Lance Corporal P.M.L.L Chandra Bandara - 6 SLCMP

Private K.G.C Padmasiri - 6 SLAOC

Lance Corporal P.A.R.S Rupasinghe - 14 VIR

Staff Sergeant M.A.D Mallawarachchi - 1 SLASC

Lance Corporal W.A.R Sandakalum - 1 VIR

Corporal G.A.N Perera - 8 GW

Private D.M.N Suabashini - 5 SLAWC

Private H.S Priyadarshani - 3 SLAWC

Private L.M.M Maduwanthi - 1 SLAWC

Private N.G Batuwita - 2 SLAWC