Header Block Sinhala

ශ්‍රී ලංකා යුද්ධ හමුදාව

ජාතියේ රැකවරණය

logo logo logo

Prestigious Vishishta Seva Vibhushanaya (VSV) Conferred on 33 Tri-Service Senior Officers

His Excellency, the President Mahinda Rajapaksa who is also the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces felicitated 33 Army, Navy and Air Force Senior Officers on Tuesday (7) by awarding the prestigious Vishishta Seva Vibhushanaya (VSV) decoration as one more important segment of the month-long ongoing War Hero commemorative ceremonies.

The ceremony to award the VSV that signifies 25 years of outstanding and unblemished service of those officers to respective forces took place at the Presidential Secretariat last evening (7) amidst a gathering of distinguished invitees, including Ministers John Seneviratne, P. Dayaratne, Douglas Devananda, Priyankara Jayaratne, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Secretary to the President, Mr Lalith Weeratunge, Defence Secretary Gotabaya Rajapaksa, Chief of Defence Staff Air Marshal Roshan Gunathilake, Tri-Service Commanders, Mr Lakshman Hulugalle, Director General, Media Centre for National Security and several others. 

The Medal is also considered the highest military decoration and a tribute that can be achieved during the course of an officer’s career.

Twelve Sri Lanka Army officers, including Commander of the Army Lt Gen Jagath Jayasuriya, 13 Sri Lanka Navy officers and 08 Sri Lanka Air Force officers, including its Commander Air Chief Marshal H.D. Abeywickreme received those decorations from their Commander-in-Chief President Mahinda Rajapaksa on the occasion.

Here follows the names of Vishista Seva Vibushana (VSV) laureates;

Sri Lanka Army
Lt. Gen J. Jayasuriya, Major General D.R.A.B. Jayathilaka, Major General W.B. Peiris, Major General T.T.R.De Silva, Major General N. Wijesinghe, Major General S.R. Balasuriya, Major General H.K.G. Hendavitharana, Major General G.A. Chandrasiri, Major General V.R. Silva, Major General N.A. Ranasinghe, Major General S.G. Karunarathne and Major General H.L. Weeratunga.

Sri Lanka Navy
Rear Admiral Dr N.E.L.W. Jayasekera, Rear Admiral S.M.B. Weerasekera, Rear Admiral J.S.K. Kolambage, Rear Admiral M.T.D.J. Dharmasiriwardena, Rear Admiral S.A.M.J. Perera, Rear Admiral W.M.K.N. Weerakoon, Rear Admiral W.M.L.T.B. Illangakoon, Rear Admiral D.S. Molligoda, Rear Admiral A.A.R.A Dias, Rear Admiral R.R. Wijesundara, Rear Admiral M.A.J.De Costa, Rear Admiral J.C. Hettigama and Rear Admiral M. Premathilaka.

Sri Lanka Air Force

Air Marshal H.D. Abeywickrema, Air Vice Marshal K.A. Gunathilake, Air Vice Marshal K.R.A Ranasinghe, Air Vice Marshal W.A Silva, Air Vice Marshal S.P. Samararathna, Air Vice Marshal R.A Dayapala, Air Vice Marshal T.A.T.F.W. Gunawardena and Air Vice Marshal E.G.J..P. De Silva.