Sri Lanka Army

Defender of the Nation

Two KLN Teams Emerge Co-Champions in Army Commander's Football Trophy

The Army Commander’s Football Trophy (Northern Province) tournament, vied by 25 football teams of Jaffna, Mullaittivu, Kilinochchi, Vavuniya and Mannar districts saw its final tussle on Monday (28) at the Kilinochchi Northern Province Sports Complex playground where two teams, 'Saint Mary's - Kilinochchi' (KLN) and 'Urithipuram Kilinochchi' competed with each other.

The tournament, launched with the intention of uplifting spirits of reconciliation and goodwill was organized on a concept of Major General Sanjaya Wanasinghe, Commander, Security Forces - Mullaittivu (SF-MLT) and Major General Chandimal Peiris, Commander 57 Infantry Division with active support of Colonel Thushan Wimalasena, Commander 572 Infantry Brigade.

This was the first sports fiesta of this magnitude launched after 3 decades in the former battle-hardened Kilinochchi. Commander SF-MLT and Mr R Ketheeswaran, District Secretary for Kilinochchi graced the occasion as chief guests with all General Officers Commanding of Infantry Divisions, Brigade Commanders, Commanding Officers, Officers, Other Ranks and a massive crowd of football fans and spectators who witnessed the finals amidst roars of cheers and applause.

The final match however concluded with a tie, 1-1 goal each after a close encounter. Both co-champions were awarded trophies and medals along with Rs. 150,000.00 for each team and 4 referees were also awarded special awards with mementoes. Following players earned trophies and certificates for their skills, shown during the tournament.

Best Player - T Pradeepan (Urithipuram KLN)

Best Goal-keeper - T Gokularaj (Urithipuram KLN)