Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

16th May 2017 14:35:43 Hours

Northern Province War Heroes’ Commemorative Ceremony Held on Grand Scale

Northern Province’s War Heroes’ commemorative ceremony, organized jointly by the office of the Governor for Northern Province and the Ranaviru Seva Authority (RSA) to coincide with the ongoing War Heroes’ remembrance month got underway in front of the War Heroes’ monument at Palaly, Jaffna on Monday (8).

Upon arrival of Hon Reginald Cooray, Governor for Northern Province as the Chief Guest for the occasion, the day’s commemorative event got to a start. Formalities, such as the recital of the National anthem, a two-minute silence in memory of fallen War Heroes and a military salute before floral wreaths were laid by the Chief Guest and other invitees to the occasion coloured the day’s event.

Religious dignitaries of Buddhist, Hindu, Islamic and Christian faiths graced the commemorative event and conducted separate orations before merits were transferred to all fallen Army, Navy, Air Force and Police War Heroes who fought to safeguard the territorial integrity of the country.

Chief Secretary for the Northern Provincial Council Mr. A. Pathinathan, welcomed the gathering before the Governor for Northern Province Hon Governor, Reginald Cooray and Dr D Kumara Sri Jayawardene, Director General, RSA delivered brief speeches, highlighting the significance of the event.

Hon Governor, Reginald Cooray, Director General, Dr D Kumara Sri Jayawardene, RSA, Mr A. Pathinathan, Chief Secretary Northern Provincial Council, Mr. N. Vethanayakam, District Secretary for Jaffna, Mr. Sundaram Arumanayahamm, District Secretary for Kilinochchi, Mrs Rupawathi Ketheeswaram, District Secretary for Mullaittivu, Major General Ajith Kariyakarawana, Commander Security Forces - Kilinochchi, Major General Darshana Hettiarachchi, Commander, Security Forces - Jaffna and Senior Officers of the Navy, Air Force and the Police laid floral tributes and paid their homage to the monument during the ceremony.

District Secretary for Jaffna Mr. N. Vethanayakam conducted the votes of thanks towards the end of the event. A large gathering of tri-service Officers and state officials took part in the day’s ceremony.