Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

01st February 2017 17:53:11 Hours

Most Sought Service Provider Joins Hands with Sister Services to Fight Against ‘Dengue’

In the wake of fast increasing threat of Dengue epidemic in the Western Province, hundreds of ever-alert tri-service (Army, Navy, Air Force) personnel, together with members of the Civil Security Department, jointly carried out extensive cleaning projects inside 60 school premises in the Colombo District on Wednesday (1).

A few more than 300 Army, Navy, Air Force and Civil Security Department (CSD) personnel joined hands with students, teachers, parents and other interested parties in respective 60 schools during the full-day programme, covering Kolonnawa, Madinnagoda, Kotuwila, Meethotamulla, Battaramulla, Kaduwela, Weliwita, Pettah, Udahamulla, Kotte, Hanwella, Homagama, Panaluwa, Watareka, Kahathuduwa, Mattegoda, Deepangoda, Kiriwaththuduwa, Padukka, Bope and several other surrounding areas.

A total of 180 Army personnel, including officers of the 11 Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment (VIR), 14 Division, 8 Sri Lanka Light Infantry (SLLI), 9 (V) Sri Lanka Light Infantry (SLLI), 10 (V) Sri Lanka National Guard (SLNG), Sri Lanka Army Women’s Corps (SLAWC) and the Security Force Headquarters - West (SFHQ-West), actively took part in those self-help (Shramadana) projects at the request of the Ministry of Defence, Department of Education and Office of the Chief of Defence Staff.

Army troops during the full-day programme covered 47 schools while Navy, Air Force and CSD personnel contributed their services to 13 remaining schools in the Colombo District.

Lieutenant General Crishanthe De Silva, Commander of the Army who took an exceptional interest in the project instructed the SFHQ-West to attend to all coordinating arrangements forthwith, considering the increasing and alarming Dengue threat and its mortality rates, reported largely from the Colombo District.

Following is the list of Colombo District schools, covered by troops of the Sri Lanka Army during the Shramadana campaign on Wednesday (1).

1. Kolonnawa Balika Vidyalaya

2. Terance Vidyalaya

3. Henry Olcott Vidyalaya

4. Meethotamulla Rahula Vidayalaya

5. Janadhipathi Balika Vidyalaya, Madinnagoda

6. Gothatuwa Maha Vidyalaya

7. Rajasinghe Vidyalaya, Kotikawatta

8. Pakavisi Pre-School, Megoda Kollonnawa

9. Sri Dharmapala Vidyalaya, Kotikawatta

10. Vidyawardana Vidyalaya, Kolonnawa

11. Gamini Vidyalaya, Kotuwila.

12. Siddhartha Vidyalaya, Kotuwila

13. Vidyawardana Vidyalaya

14. M.D.H. Maha Vidyalaya

15. Subuthi Vidyalaya

16. Bomriya Central College

17. St. Mary’s College, Welivita

18. Sri Jayawardenapura Boys School

19. St. Thomas College, Pita Kotte

20. Annanda Sastralaya

21. Stanley Tilakaratne Vidyalaya, Udahamulla

22. Kebel Vidyalaya

23. Roman Catholic Junior School

24. Walavwatte Kanista Vidyalaya

25. Neeripola Kanista Vidyalaya

26. Mawathagama Kanista Vidyalaya

27. Sumanajothi Maha Vidyalaya

28. Diddeniya Kanista Vidyalaya

29. Boralugoda Maha Vidyalaya, Kahahena

30. Welikanna Roman Catholic Junior School

31. Lahirugama Kanista Vidyalaya

32. Siri Nivasa Watte Tamil Vidyalaya

33. St. Mary’s College, Hanwella

34. Janadhipathi Vidyalaya

35. C. C. Tamil Primary School

36. Aluth Ambalama Kanista Vidyalaya

37. Kosgama Maha Vidyalaya

38. Homagama Maha Vidyalaya

39. Panaluwa Kanista Vidyalaya

40. Watareka Kanista Vidyalaya

41. Vidyadeepa Vidyalaya, Mattegoda

42. Deepangoda Kanista Vidyalaya

43. Medhananda Maha Vidyalaya

44. Kiriwattuduwa Wijewardane Vidyalaya

45. Angamuwa Kanista Vidyalaya

46. M.D.H. Jayawardana Vidyalaya, Udahamulla

47. Bope Rajasinghe Maha Vidyalaya