Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

Defence Services Bags President Rajapaksa Trophy Again

The year’s most challenging and sensational Rugby encounter between Defence Services (DS) team and Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU) President’s team kicked off at Army Headquarters grounds Thursday (5) evening amidst a galaxy of distinguished guests, including His Excellency, the President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

The tussle for the President Rajapaksa Trophy that got underway for the second successive year was witnessed by Minister of Sports C.B. Rathnayake, Member of Parliament Duminda Silva, Chief of Defence Staff Air Chief Marshal Roshan Goonetileke, Commander of the Army Lieutenant General Jagath Jayasuriya and Commander of the Navy Vice Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe.

Last year, the President’s Trophy was snatched by the Defence Services team, captained by Yoshitha Rajapaksa. This year’s Defence Services team was captained by Captain Meepage of the Sri Lanka Army.

Air Chief Marshal Roshan Goonetileke is the President for both Defence Services team and Sri Lanka Rugby Football Union (SLRFU) team. The SLRFU, a combined team, made of the best ruggerites, selected from every corner of the country, posed a daunting challenge as the match warmed up.

 Defence Services thrashed SLRFU President’s team 39 to 10.