Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

28th November 2016 16:44:20 Hours

Bravery of SF War Heroes Recognized Awarding RWP & RSP Gallantry Medals

One more segment of still serving Special Forces Regiment (SF) War Heroes who selflessly fought for the defence of the motherland was honoured, awarding Rana Wickrama Padakkama (RWP) and Rana Sura Padakkama (RSP), gallantry medals on Monday (28) during a special ceremony at Maduru Oya Special Forces Training School (SFTS).

Major General Mahesh Senanayake, Colonel of the Regiment, SF presided the occasion as the Chief Guest in the day’s ceremony.

A total of 455 War Heroes of SF in service were awarded those RWP and RSP medals in recognition of their bravery and unmatched services.

Recital of the SF Regimental song and observance of a two-minute silence in memory of all fallen War Heroes brought the scene to the apex, amid reverberating ‘Rana Bera’ sounds, presented by the cultural troupes of the SF.

At the first stage, Rana Wickrama Padakkama (RWP) was awarded to military officers and other ranks. This recognizes allied or individual acts of heroism and bravery in the face of the enemy. It is also known as the combat gallantry medal.

Then, award of the Rana Sura Padakkama (RSP) which is also regarded as the combat excellence medal got underway which also recognizes individual and associated acts of heroism in facing the enemy.

Before the patriotic song ‘Ratnadeepa Janma Bhoomi’ was played, Major General Mahesh Senanayake, Colonel of the Regiment, SF formally addressed the gathering and extended his best wishes and admiration.

Senior officers, recipients of laurels and other ranks witnessed the Gallantry Medal awarding ceremony at Maduru Oya.

Recital of the national anthem drew the proceedings to a close.

Brigadier H.P Ranasinghe, Centre Commandant, SF was also associated with the investiture ceremony.