Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

logo logo logo

Army Troops in Jaffna Launch Full Scale Fight Against Alarming ‘Dengue’ Epidemic in 67 Schools

Taking the challenge of eradicating Dengue epidemic from school gardens and their surroundings, a few more than 1000 members of the Army, drawn from all three peninsula-based Divisions (51, 52, 55) of the Security Force Headquarters - Jaffna (SFHQ-J), carried out extensive cleaning projects inside 67 school compounds in the Jaffna peninsula with the support of respective students and others for two consecutive days.

Those ‘Shramadana’ (self-help) programmes, in consultation with Department of Education and Health Department officials were organized on the instructions of Major General Mahesh Senanayake, Commander, Security Forces-Jaffna after those authorities brought the alarming proportions of the incidence of Dengue to the notice of the SFHQ-J.

Principals, teachers as well as the minor staff in those schools, in addition to the students, joined hands with the members of the Army, comprised of 50 officers for this worthy cause during January 7 - 8 since Dengue mortality rate among Jaffna children was relatively high and fast on the increase in the peninsula.

Troops of the 51, 52 and 55 Divisions as per instructions of the SFHQ-J visited the schools in respective areas in groups and commenced the cleaning project, considering the project as one of the humanitarian and timely requirements.

Several schools in the Jaffna peninsula that were covered in the programme were as mentioned below;

Nallur Ananda College

St. Benedict’s College

Waddu Hindu Central College

Muthuthamby Maha Vidyalaya

Atchuweli Central College

Innuwil Central College

Sithivinayagar Hindu College

The whole list of schools is as follows;

Thavadi Hindu Tamil Mix School

Kokuvil Ramakrishna Vidyalaya

Muttu Thambi Maha Vidyalaya

Velani Central College

Velani Saiwapragas Vidyalaya

Velani Saraswathi Vidyalaya

Jaffna Central College

Jaffna Waitiswara College

Jaffna Roman Catholic College

Nallur Ananda College

Yakasi Mullai Vidayalaya

St. Benedict’s College

Waddu Hindu Central College

Waddu Subramanium College

Navali College

Periyavilan Roman Catholic Tamil School

Kulamangal School

Ponparamanathan Central College

Welwaimagaliyar Maha Vidyalaya - Polikandi West

Sidhambaram Vidyalaya - Welwetithurai

Thirugnana Sambandan Vidyalaya

Atchuweli Maha Vidyalaya

Atchuweli Primary School

St Theresa Girls College

Warani Maha Vidyalaya

Vidaththapalai Kamalasani Vidyalaya

Kovilakkandi Maha Lakshmi Vidyalaya

Driburg College - Chavakachcheri

Alvai Sri Lanka School

Alvai Ambal School

Karanawai Thamodara Vidyalaya

Ponnampalam Vidyalaya

Nagarkovil American Mission Tamil Mix School

Katikovalam Methodist Mix Tamil School

Kovilwayal Vidyalaya

Vampianpattu Vidyalaya

Inuvil Central School

Kokuvil Kaleimagal National School

Kokuvil Christian College

Welani West Nataraja Vidyalaya

Nageshwari Vidyalaya

Sarawanai Sinnamadu Vidyalaya

Tamil Hindu Mix School

Kanagaratnam Maha Vidyalaya

Thirunaweli Roman Catholic Vidyalaya

Nawali Attagiri Saiva Vidyalaya

Nawali St Peter’s College

Anakottai Balasubramaniam Maha Vidyalaya

Keeramalai Naguleshwaram School

Pandathirippu Hindu College

Nadeshwara Maha Vidyalaya - Mallakam

Ponparamanathan Central College

Welwei Vidyalaya - Welwetithurai North

Welwei Americal Tamil Mix School - Welwetithurai West

Ramanathaya Maha Vidyalaya

Sithith Vinayagar Vidyalaya

Ponnalai Kadduwan Maha Vidyalaya

Ewanai Vidyalaya

Sri Bharathi Maha Vidyalaya

Kethpeli Vidyalaya

Thambasetti School

Wettalaikerni Roman Catholic Mix School

Nelliadi Central College

Wigneshwara Maha Vidyalaya

Jaffna Government Tamil School

Jaffna Puththalai Maha Vidyalaya

Iyakachchi Tamil Maha Vidyalaya