Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

Army Swimmers Shine Carrying Overall Men’s Championship in the 81st National 2 Mile Sea Swimming Championship

The 81st annual national Two Mile Open Water Sea Swimming championship-organized by the Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union (SLASU) was held during 3-4 March 2018 with over 750 participants aged between 12 to 70 years in the Mount Lavinia seas.

Representing the Army sports club 123 male and 7 female Army swimmers participated in the tournament.

The Mount Lavinia Challenge Trophy for the Men’s Team Championship went to Sri Lanka Army who also won the trophy for the Highest Aggregate Point for the 3rd consecutive time. The Army swimmers secured the inter-service team championship for the 10th consecutive year.

The awards for the Differently Abled Swimmer went to Private T.G Ajith Kumara of the Sri Lanka Light Infantry (SLLI).

Colonel Cliffered De Soyza and Lieutenant Colonel Teril De Silva of the Army Aquatics Sports Committee have competed in the above 40 year category.

Sri Lanka Aquatic Sports Union (SLASU) is the governing body of Aquatic Sports in Sri Lanka for the aquatic sports of swimming, diving, water polo, synchronized swimming and open water swimming.

The National Two Mile Sea Swim boasts of being one of the oldest open water competitions in the Asian region, and has been continuously hosted by Mount Lavinia Hotel. The inaugural race was swum on a straight course from the beach opposite Boswell Place in Wellawatte to the Mount Lavinia Hotel Bay on a Sunday morning in March 1938. The course was later changed from the Bay to a point closer to the Dehiwala Bridge and back.

The event was made a reality under the close supervision of Major General Piyal Wickramaratne, Chairman, Army Aquatics Sports Committee who is also the Commandant, Sri Lanka Army Volunteer Force (SLAVF) and the Colonel of the Regiment, Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment (SLSR).