Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

08th May 2018 22:32:31 Hours

2nd Session of the 8th Parliament Opened in Colourful Guard of Honour

Elegantly-dressed members of the Army, Navy and Air Force in conformity with practising Parliamentary traditions had the distinguished honour of presenting a presidential Guard of Honour to HE the President Maithripala Sirisena this afternoon (8) during the ceremonial opening of the 2nd session of the eighth Parliament at Battaramulla, Sri Jayewardenepura Parliament complex.

During this formal welcome, HE the President Maithripala Sirisena on arrival at the venue was received by Hon Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, together with the Secretary General of the Parliament and was subsequently invited to accept the honours of tri services in accordance with formalities.

A distinguished gathering, headed by the Prime Minister, Hon Speaker, Ministers, diplomats and state officials were there to witness the day's proceedings. The Guard of Honour salute was made up of 4 officers and 96 Service personnel of the tri services with respective colours squads. 2 Officers and 33 Other Ranks of the Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment (VIR) of the Army added their share to the Guard of Honour, accorded in the President's honour.

Bringing the day's short but the dignified spectacle to conclusion, Sri Lanka Artillery (SLA) Regiment Gun Battery fired 21 rounds and saluted the Head of the State as has been the practice on such ceremonial state parades.

HE the President read out his government's new policy statement after the formal welcome ceremony was over. The first meeting of the first Parliament was held on 14th October 1947 and its ceremonial sitting was presided by the Governor Sir Henry Monck-Mason Moore. He read out what was then termed as the Throne Speech (Raajasana Kathawa) and opened the sessions.

The final segment of the ceremony took place after the President’s address was over.