Sri Lanka Army

Defenders of the Nation

12 VIR Snatches ‘SFHQ-J 20 - 20 Cricket Trophy – 2017’

12 Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment (VIR) cricketers clinched the 20 - 20 Soft Ball Cricket Trophy - 2017, organized by the 551 Brigade on the directions of the Security Force Headquarters - Jaffna (SFHQ-J) at the Palaly Cricket ground in Jaffna on Tuesday (26).

The final match was played in the Palaly cricket ground on 26 December 2017 and witnessed by a large number of cricket fans and distinguished guests, including Major General Dharshana Hettiarachchi, Commander, Security Forces– Jaffna (SF-J) who graced the occasion as the Chief Guest.

51 cricket teams representing all Battalions, deployed in the SFHQ-J area competed in the tournament. Accordingly, 12 Vijayabahu Infantry Regiment team and 19 Sri Lanka Sinha Regiment team became qualified for the finals. During the final match, 12 VIR won the trophy by 4 wickets. Both teams were awarded certificates and medals during the awarding ceremony.

Before the conclusion, Commander, SF - J presented mementos to all local umpires in Point - Pedro area who performed throughout the tournament.

Division Commanders, Brigade Commanders, Commanding Officers and Staff Officers of the SFHQ - J were also present during the event.